BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
gillymon
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

Rookie question:  How do I get SAS to recognize a "." as part of table name instead of the start of a file extension?

Background:  I am a SQL Developer/Administrator.  My company recently gained access to a large data warehouse that exists in a SAS Computing Environment (version 9.4).  As a test before I start looking at sensitive data, I am trying to copy a reference table from their directory to my own, for later transfer off their server.

Problem:  My code looks like this:

LIBNAME MyDir '/target/directory/';
LIBNAME RefDir '/reference/directory/';

PROC SQL;
CREATE TABLE MyDir.MyTable AS
SELECT * FROM RefDir.ReferenceTable.fyXX.txt WHERE SpecificField IS NOT NULL;

QUIT;

The XX in "fyXX" corresponds to a 2 digit fiscal year.

I get errors 22-322 and 200-322 at the period before fyXX.  I am certain this is the name of the table I want (cannot just copy/paste due to company policy).  It is my hope that there is some simple solution to this problem as I will need to copy several of these tables for reference into my SQL database.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

First thing is your file is NOT using fixed length records. So remove the RECFM=F.

Second no need to specify the record length, unless your records are longer than 32K bytes.

To read a delimited file make sure to use LIST mode in your INPUT statement.

You shouldn't have gotten that exact error message from your posted code. It should show the actual file name. Perhaps you added quotes around newfile instead of using it as a fileref?  INFILE newFile is different than INFILE "newFile".

Here is a simple skeleton of a data step to read a delimited file.