BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jsyang56
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I'm very new to SAS and it would be great if someone can suggest some solutions because I just can't think of any. 

Background: I'm using the IBM MarketScan data for my project and I need to identify index dates based on people's exposure to different drug classes. So far, I have cut my data down to people who have claims for receiving all drug classes of interest during the study period. 

Problem: Now, I need some help with the following questions, 

1) How do you create an algorithm or macros for a line of therapy (LOT) and apply the algorithm to each patient? 

LOT Definitions

• In general, a LOT consists of ≥ 1 complete cycle of one of the following,
    • Single drug or
    • A regimen that consists of a combination of different drugs 

• If one of the following conditions are met, it will be considered as an advancement in LOT
    • All drugs of an existing regimen are discontinued, and a new regimen of different combinations of drugs is initiated
    • Unplanned addition or substitution of a new drug to an existing regimen
    • If the previously discontinued regimen is restarted later, the restarted regimen will be counted as a new LOT if
      • There is evidence of ≥ 1 other regimen administered in between the discontinued period
      • The regimen is modified through the addition of ≥1 drug

• The following conditions do not meet the criteria for the advancement of LOT definition and will be considered as a single LOT,

• If a LOT is interrupted or discontinued for any reason and the same LOT is restarted <60 days after without any evidence of receiving other intervening LOT in between the gap

2) Once the LOT definition algorithms have been applied for each patient, I will need to identify the index date for each patient. The index date is defined as the first date of receiving a new LOT after completing a line of therapy with all three drug classes.

• For example,