BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vanpeltm1785
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello all, I'm hoping someone can help, as I am fairly new with SAS. I couldn't find anywhere on the forum that specifically addressed what I am trying to do. I am trying to make the code run only if my date criteria is met.

I want to run (automate) the previous quarter of data, but only if it is >2 months after the end of the previous quarter, for example, I want to run data for 01JUL2019 - 30SEP2019, but run it no earlier than 01DEC2019 to make sure all the data is caught up.

Here is what I have now:

data _null_;
call symput('startdt',"'"||put(intnx('quarter', today(),-1, 'B'), date9.)||"'D");
call symput('ENDdt',"'"||put(intnx('quarter', today(), -1, 'E'), date9.)||"'D");
run;
%put &startdt.;
%put &ENDdt.;

So for this to run, date of intnx('quarter', today(),-1, 'B') should be equal to intnx('month', today(),-5, 'B')

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
vanpeltm1785
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks, I moved a round a few things, but primarily changed "if intnx('month',end,now) >=2 then do;" to "if intck('month',end,now) = 3 then do;"

Does that seem right? seems to be giving me the output I want... Here is my full adjustment:

%let startdt=NOTE: WILL NOT RUN BECAUSE THE REPORT MUST BE RUN IN THE THIRD MONTH AFTER THE PREVIOUS QUARTER ENDED,EXAMPLE-IF THE QUARTER ENDS SEPT 30, YOU MUST WAIT UNTIL AT LEAST DEC 01 TO RUN;
%let enddt=NOTE: WILL NOT RUN BECAUSE THE REPORT MUST BE RUN IN THE THIRD MONTH AFTER THE PREVIOUS QUARTER ENDED,EXAMPLE-IF THE QUARTER ENDS SEPT 30, YOU MUST WAIT UNTIL AT LEAST DEC 01 TO RUN;
data _null_;
  now=today();
  start = intnx('quarter',now,-1,'b');
  end = intnx('quarter',now,-1,'e');
  if intck('month',end,now) = 3 then do;
    call symput('startdt',"'"||put(start, date9.)||"'D");
    call symput('ENDdt',"'"||put(end, date9.)||"'D");