BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sms39
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all, 

I'm sure this is answered somewhere else but I can't seem to find it, so I'll ask here. I'm new to SAS and am having trouble converting a char data variable to a numeric one. The variable in question is a list of data all formatted as a mix of character: 002AB0001, 002AB0002, 002AB0003 and so on). I am hoping to change it to only the last 4 digits (ex: 0001, 0002, 0003). Any suggestions on the proper code for this?

I've tried a few commands, including the one below, but am not sure how to specify to SAS that I'm interested in the last 4.

Thank you all

failed attempt:

data new_set;

old_var = "002AB0001";

numeric_var = input(old_var,4.);

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ksharp
Super User
data new_set;
old_var = "002AB0001";
numeric_var = input(scan(old_var,-1,,'kd'),best.);
run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User
SUBSTR() will get the last four characters. If it's mixed length it's a bit harder, because you need to count backwards.

partial_var = substr(old_var, 6);
numeric_var = input(partial_var, 4.);

if the length of the variable does change you can use LENGTH() as well.

partial_var = substr(old_var, length(old_var)-4);

Leading zeros will be dropped in a numeric variable though.
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@sms39 wrote:

Hi all, 

I'm sure this is answered somewhere else but I can't seem to find it, so I'll ask here. I'm new to SAS and am having trouble converting a char data variable to a numeric one. The variable in question is a list of data all formatted as a mix of character: 002AB0001, 002AB0002, 002AB0003 and so on). I am hoping to change it to only the last 4 digits (ex: 0001, 0002, 0003). Any suggestions on the proper code for this?