BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sebastiaam
Obsidian | Level 7

Greetings, I am new to SAS, and sorry if this question has already been answered but I have not found exactly what I want.

I have different databases with the format 20xxxx_Name (where the first digits are the year followed by the month, for example 202101, 202208, etc).

I have to join the databases in an interval of 12 months depending on a month's input. That is, if I want to analyze 202208, I have to join the tables from 202102-202202. In general, given an input month m, join tables from (m-18) to (m-7).

I don't know if I can use modular arithmetic or use SAS date functions.

The idea would be

%LET INPUT_MONTH == m;

DATA WORK.TABLES;
SET WORK.(m-18)_NAME-(m-7)_NAME;
RUN;

Or I don't know if using a for loop is the solution.

Thank you very much for your time and help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Here's a short macro to do this. Please note you cannot have a data set named work.202102_name because data set names cannot begin with a number, so I have modified the names to be legal and begin with a character.

%macro dothis(month=);
data list_of_months;
    input_month=input("&month",yymmn6.);
    do i=-18 to -7;
        this_month=intnx('month',input_month,i,'b');
        output;
    end;
    drop i;
run;
/* Create macro variable containing the data set names */
proc sql noprint;
    select cats('work.month_',put(this_month,yymmn6.)) into :list_of_months separated by ' ' from list_of_Months;
quit;
%put &=list_of_Months; /* this line is optional, it lets you view the macro variable to see which months have been selected */

data work.tables;
    set &list_of_months;
Run;
%mend;

%dothis(month=202208) 
--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26