BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Cuneyt
Obsidian | Level 7

I know that there are SAS syntax highlighting extensions for various text editors like Notepad++, but is there a Gedit (text editor on Gnome) extension for SAS syntax highlighting? I am looking for syntax highlighting, not a full IDE. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cuneyt
Obsidian | Level 7

I have written a syntax highlighting file (sas.lang) and a color theme file (sascolors.xml) for editing SAS programs in Gedit. They are both XML files. I have kept these files as simple as possible, first because I am not a professional software developer, and second because I wanted these files to be updated easily. I have attached a zip file that contains both of these files.

SAS.LANG: This is the SAS language specification file for syntax highlighting in Gedit. It highlights the following:

1. Comments between /* */ and * ;
  2. String within single and double quotes
  3. SAS procedures
  4. SAS statements, keywords, options, etc.

This file should be saved in the following directory:
/.local/share/gtksourceview-3.0/language-specs/ or /.local/share/gtksourceview-4/language-specs/

SASCOLORS.XML: This is a Gedit color theme for the SAS language. This file should be saved in the following directory:
/.local/share/gedit/styles

It highlights the following

1. Comments in green
  2. Strings in purple
  3. SAS procedures in dark blue and bold
  4. SAS statements, keywords, options, etc. in light blue

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager