BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vulpeszerda
Fluorite | Level 6

I have six large datasets stored in a library in SAS 9.4. Individually, each of them runs analyses fine without error. I am trying to combine them using a set statement, which I have done in the past. But this time, when I run the set statement, I get a couple hundred "ERROR: The format XYZ was not found or could not be loaded". It looks to me like the formats in the errors are for all the datsets, since some of them repeat six times and the datasets measure the same variables over time. Anyway, I am wondering why this would happen and what to do because it's stopping me from being able to combine these together. I know I must be missing something obvious, I'm sorry that I'm still very new to SAS and formats are something I have less understanding of. I have tried using Options fmtsearch, referring to the library where all of these datasets are together, but that doesn't work. My code/log is below but it's essentially what I just described. Any ideas? TYIA for any help. 

Options fmtsearch=(hints);
data hints. hintsmerge;
set hints. temphints3 hints. temphints41 hints. temphints43 hints. temphints44 hints. temphints51 hints. temphints52;
run;

ERROR: The format XYZ was not found or could not be loaded.

NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
WARNING: The data set HINTS.HINTSMERGE may be incomplete. When this step was stopped there
were 0 observations and 1470 variables.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You can define datasets with formats "permanently" attached.  What this actually means is just that in the metadata for the dataset is says what format you prefer to use to display the variable.  But the actual format itself is stored in a format catalog, NOT in the dataset.