BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SASUser_86
Calcite | Level 5

Hi. I want to ftp a a dataset in xlsx format.

I'm using the following code, but keep receiving error:

%let ftpUID=username;

%let ftpPWD=password;

%let outputFilename=file1;

filename datasetname

ftp cd= "file1"

host="inserthost"

user = "&ftpUID."

pass = "&ftpPWD."

dir

debug;

data _null_;

file dim_usr_ofc(&outputFilename..xlsx);

termstr=crlf;

run;

Error:

ERROR: Invalid logical name.
ERROR: Error in the FILENAME statement.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

10 REPLIES 10
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

For all I know,  datasetname is a fileref with more than 8 characters which does not conform to the rules of length of fileref. Is this something to do with the error stated?

SASUser_86
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Novinosrin. Is the filename supposed to be the name of the sas dataset I want to export to the FTP server?

Sorry, I am very new to SAS. I don't quite understand most of the terminologies.
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

File and library references must not be longer than 8 characters. That's still a hard limit in SAS.

Change your local file reference to something shorter:

filename dsname
  ftp
  cd= "file1"
  host="inserthost"
  user = "&ftpUID."
  pass = "&ftpPWD."
  dir
  debug
;
SASUser_86
Calcite | Level 5
Is the filename supposed to be the name of the sas dataset that I want to be moved in xlsx format to the ftp location? Thank you very much.
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You use the FILENAME statement to create essentially an alias you want to use to reference a file.  We normally refer to this alias as the FILEREF.  That is what needs to be 8 characters or less.  It does not have to have anything to do with the name of the actual file you are referencing.  In your code you trying to use DATESETNAME as the fileref.  That is too long. Use something shorter.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User