BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
harveysarah0
Calcite | Level 5

I am trying to import this data set into SAS and keep getting this message. I copy and pasted the data into the editor and highlighted it and clicked the little running man up top.

City State Price

Baltimore MD 10.95
Brooklyn NY 12.99
Buffalo NY 11.50
Harlem NY 12.50
Newark NJ 11.50
Rochester NY 10.95
Stamford CT 11.50
Syracuse NY 10.95
Troy NY 11.50

9 REPLIES 9
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Hi @harveysarah0  Welcome to SAS communities. Where is your code?

data have;
input City :$15. State :$2. Price;
cards;
Baltimore MD 10.95
Brooklyn NY 12.99
Buffalo NY 11.50
Harlem NY 12.50
Newark NJ 11.50
Rochester NY 10.95
Stamford CT 11.50
Syracuse NY 10.95
Troy NY 11.50
;
proc print noobs;run;
harveysarah0
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there,

Again I am very new to using SAS and don't know a whole lot about the program. To make it a data set do I have to use the code you just provided?

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Ah Okay, I was scratching my head to understand your Error. Oh well, how embarrassing for me. Yes, you can use the code I provided to read in your raw data values instream to create a dataset named HAVE with those values.

To print i.e to view the dataset, you can use the proc print code that follows the creation code. 

harveysarah0
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks so much again. Why do the city and state have those $ values next to them?

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

You need some training/learning help. Calling/Requesting @Reeza  to help new learners to provide some guidance/directions just like what I received a few years ago. 

Also @AnnaBrown  has a list of youtube videos tutorials. Let's see if they chime in. 

Nonetheless, If you have O'Reily media Safari library membership, you can learn from the very basic to any imagination. 

All the Best!

AnnaBrown
Community Manager

Thanks for looping me in here, @novinosrin!