BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sasknewB
Calcite | Level 5

(I am using SAS Enterprise Guide Version 7.15 HF7)

Hi, I have tried to debug this code for hours without luck. The error message I am getting is: "ERROR: Expected close parenthesis after macro function invocation not found."

The code %if %sysfunc(anyalpha(&MyVar.)) ge 1 %then %do; is where the error stems from. I believe it has to do with the fact that I am using %sysfunc and anyalpha together. On a separate post I read, I believe the error might be from the fact that there is "usage of macro statements where normal data-step-statements are required." I am no SAS expert, and I do not know what that means. I would appreciate any help. Thanks!

%let input_var2 =		group; 
	data _NULL_;
	 if 0 then set work.test3 nobs=n;
	 call symputx('num_obs',n);
	 stop;
	run;
	%put no. of observations = &num_obs;
%MACRO SPLIT; %DO I = 1 %TO &num_obs; /* creating a dataset for each unique entry from the input_var2 list */ data _null_; set work.test3(obs=&I. firstobs=&I. keep = &input_var2.); call symputx('MyVar', &input_var2.); stop; run; %put &MyVar.; %if %sysfunc(anyalpha(&MyVar.)) ge 1 %then %do; %let MyVar2 = "&MyVar."; %end; %else %do; %let MyVar2 = &MyVar.; %end; %put &MyVar2.; data work.&input_var2.&I.; set work.test; where &input_var2 = &MyVar2.; run; %END; %MEND SPLIT; options mlogic symbolgen MLOGICNEST; %SPLIT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You have not protected your macro code from unbalanced quotes in the value of the macro variable you created from a dataset variable.  Most likely in this line:

%if %sysfunc(anyalpha(&MyVar.)) ge 1 %then %do

You could convert to:

%if %sysfunc(anyalpha(%superq(MyVar))) ge 1 %then %do

But really you should just figure out if the variable is numeric or character upfront.

data _NULL_;