BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
hporter
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

Currently I have a master table that I make several other tables from based on user_name.

Ex:
Master table
Table A columns: Acct, Date, Status, User_Name

then I inefficiently do something like:

proc sql;
create table John

as select * from work.A  where name = 'John'

;quit;

proc sql;

create table Jane

as select * from work.A where name = 'Jane'

;quit;

Then later I export all of these, sticking to the same convention of writing several export statements all from my user_name work tables. It sucks.

If I only had a few users, and they never changed, I wouldn't care. But I have around 10 that vary based on hiring and firing, and i have this process automated, except I have to manually go in and edit users when and if they change.

I'm fairly new to programming, but have done similar things with macros/python/vba before. I just want to stick in SAS for this particular process.

I'm just running into a wall in my head because the user_names aren't knowable like months or days or something, so it would need to be a select distinct user_name, but I'm really at a loss.

Any help is appreciated,

Thank you,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ghosh
Barite | Level 11

Your goal seems to be wanting to export a discrete file per employee.  Using the code below modified to your data you can create an Excel file with a separate worksheet for each person

FILENAME out '~/img/cars.xlsx';
proc sort data=sashelp.cars out=cars;
by origin;
run;
options nobyline;
ods listing close;
ods excel file=out  options(sheet_name='#byval1');
proc print data=cars;
by origin;
run;
ods excel close;
ods listing;

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

If your names can all be used as valid SAS names, do this:

proc sql;
create table names as
  select distinct name
  from a
;
quit;