BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Van2
Fluorite | Level 6

Dear sas community,

im fairly new at sas and have a problem i hope you Can help me solve. My dataset looks like this

id.   Moveindate moveoutdate

a      Jan. 1.2021.          Jan.4.2021

b.      Jan.2.2021.         Jan.3.2021

i Want to create dummy columns for each day of the Month that take the value 1 if the date is within the range of moveindate and moveoutdate. So for example it would look like this

id.   Moveindate moveoutdate jan1 jan2 jan3 jan4

a      Jan. 1.2021.          Jan.4.2021 1.    1.        1.      1

b.      Jan.2.2021.         Jan.3.2021 0.   1.        1.       0

i Can do this the brute Way by using datastep like Below, but its tedious and error prone since i eventually plan on doing it for every month of the year. I hope you Guys Can help. Thanks in advance

data want;

set have;

jan1=0;

if moveindate<=`01jan2021` and moveoutdate=>´01jan2021` then jan01=1;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Creating variables named JAN1, JAN2, JAN3, JAN4 is a particularly poor way of arranging the data in SAS, and makes future programming with this data set more difficult and time consuming. Dates are data, they belong as values of a variable, not in a variable name.

A much better approach is to leave the data in the long arrangement. This assumes moveindate and moveoutdate are valid numeric SAS date values.

data re_arrange;
    set have;
    do date=movindate to moveoutdate by 1;
        output;
     end;
     drop moveindate moveoutdate;
run;

Further calculations with this data set are much easier because almost all SAS PROCs work well on data in this long arrangement.

Please answer this question: the next steps after this re-arrangement of the data will be to perform analyses or reports or plots like _______________ and ________________.

--
Paige Miller