BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
User_2024
Obsidian | Level 7

Headsup ! I am a beginner in sas. Appreciate your time, kindness and help!

I have a master dataset and three sub datasets ,with various columns puled from Oracle database. The code works till I pull the data, merge. I run this everyday, the output is an excel file with acct_num, acct_id and other columns. the logic looks back last 7 days and fetches the result.

• Now, the tricky part is I am comparing the today's file to last 7 days and remove duplicates from today's report.( My previous post was to seek help on defining &yesterday, and with the help I created &previous_day 1 to 7 , stacked)
  • After the comparison runs and when I pull the final data, I have this datatype error that seems to be difficult to resolve. I used APPEND, APPEND with FORCE, I also tried creating TEST dataset so my first previous_day1 report will look at test and avoid any data type error IF the previous report has ANY NULL data. 
253 data myora.final_result2;
254 /*format open_dt 10. close_dt 10. merch_num 12. DOB $10.;*/
255 merge myora.final_result (in=a) Previous_report1(in=b) Previous_report2 (in=c)
255! Previous_report3 (in=d) Previous_report4 (in=e) Previous_report5 (in=f) Previous_report6
255! (in=g) Previous_report7(in=h);
ERROR: Variable OPEN_DT has been defined as both character and numeric.
ERROR: Variable CLOSE_DT has been defined as both character and numeric.
ERROR: Variable MERCH_NUM has been defined as both character and numeric.
ERROR: Variable DOB has been defined as both character and numeric.
ERROR: Variable ACCT_NUM has been defined as both character and numeric

%let current_day = %sysfunc(today());
%let weekday = %sysfunc(weekday(&current_day.));

%if &weekday. = 2 %then %do;
    /* If it's Monday, fetch friday */
    %let previous_day  = %sysfunc(intnx(day, &current_day., -3), date9.);