BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Unagi
Calcite | Level 5

Hello. I am a novice SAS user looking to learn how to sum numeric column observations in a data step by multiple variables (ID and CY) WITHOUT rolling any records up.

I would like to turn this:

sascomhelp.png

into this:

sascomhelp1.png

I can do so using a proc step, and I can roll up records to only show a data table with unique ID observations, but I would like to learn how to utilize the DO loop or a RETAIN or FIRST/LAST in order to generate a summation by CY and ID that does not roll any records up, and simply lists the entire CY sum for individual IDs.

Looking for a point in the right direction, not just to be given the solution if that helps!

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mkeintz
PROC Star

Although your sample data is not sorted by ID/CY, it does appear to be grouped by ID/CY.  If so, then the DATA step is an efficient way to generate the results you want.

Using a SET statement with a BY statement tells the DATA step to generate two dummy variables for each BY variable.  So if you have

set have;
   by id cy;

you would get a FIRST.CY=1 whenever you read an observation with a change in CY value. In the example above whenever ID changes values, then FIRST.ID=1  (and all by-variables to its right will also have FIRST. dummy=1).  So FIRST.CY=1 whenever CY changes, as well as whenever ID changes.   Otherwise first.cy=0.

This allows you a way to determine whenever the observation in hand is the start of a new ID/CY group, i.e. this is when you want to initialize the value of the sum_payment_cy variable.  If the sum_payment_cy variable is RETAINED, then adding PAYMENT to it will allow it to accumulate total payments for the given ID/CY group.

At the END of the id/cy group (i.e. when last.cy=1), you now have the value of interest in sum_payment_cy.