BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
texasmfp
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I have a data subscription service that, unfortunately, generates data in Excel where some fields can contain multiple values separate by a semi-colon. Here is an example:

Date Company Code Product Value
2022-06-16 Company A 7306199902; 7216910100; 7306199902; 7306199902; 7306199902; 7306300400 TUBE1; TUBE2; TUBE3; TUBE4; TUBE5; Tube6 79106.46; 36387.81; 120898.88; 1701.82; 138816.6; 61075.22
2022-06-15 Company A 7306300400 TUBE4 194963.13
2022-06-15 Company B 3917230499; 3917400100 TUBE1;TUBE4 24324.36; 2295.45
2022-06-15 Company C 7609000299 TUBE5 3089.67

While not in this example, occasionally, some values are blanks.  The blanks can be in any of the 5 fields.  If it is in one of the fields with multiple values, there is a delimiter, but the value is blank.  I'd like to create a SAS database that splits out the delimited values, one to a line, repeating the values of the non-delimited fields (Date and Company in the example).  Here is the desired SAS dataset:

Date Company Code Product Value
2022-06-16 Company A 7306199902 TUBE1 79106.46
2022-06-16 Company A 7216910100 TUBE2 36387.81
2022-06-16 Company A 7306199902 TUBE3 120898.88
2022-06-16 Company A 7306199902 TUBE4 1701.82
2022-06-16 Company A 7306199902 TUBE5 138816.6
2022-06-16 Company A 7306300400 TUBE6 61075.22
2022-06-15 Company A 7306300400 TUBE4 194963.13
2022-06-15 Company B 3917230499 TUBE1 24324.36
2022-06-15 Company B 3917400100 TUBE4 2295.45
2022-06-15 Company C 7609000299 TUBE5 3089.67

I am using Base SAS 9.4 (TS1M6) and have SAS/ACCESS Interface to PC Files.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User