BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
CathyVI
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello,

I am asked to do both summary analysis and exploratory analysis on a data. I am new to sas but so eager to learn. I need some help understanding how to create codes and analyze for the following variables.

Summary Analysis (Encounter Level)

• Number of encounters that have any medication data by:
    • Setting
    • Source
    • Hospital Identifier
    • Code Systems
    • Verified Code systems
  • Identify encounters that are missing medication data by:
    • Setting
    • Source
    • Hospital Identifier

Exploratory Analysis (Drug Level)

• Number of medications with codes
  • Number of medications with labels
  • Number of medication with codes but no labels
  • Number of medications with labels but no codes
  • Number of medications with codes and labels
  • Number of medication with neither codes and labels
10 REPLIES 10
Reeza
Super User
What's your timeline for this analysis? I would say take the first two days/first week and complete the free SAS e course or the Coursera course keeping these objectives in mind. All of these can be done with PROC FREQ and a data step. PROC FREQ is pretty quick to learn, the data step I'm still working on 15 years later!
Reeza
Super User
And we can't really answer your question without any context of your data. How the data is formatted and stored and the exact rules of 'what does no label' or 'what does no code' mean are very important. If you need code help, then you need to provide example data and show what you want as the output. You likely can't post real data, so make fake data as close to your real data as possible.
CathyVI
Pyrite | Level 9

Thank you for your help, I think you gave me a good lead into where i should start.

As for your question on meaning of code and label, the label is the drug name while the drug code represent the event of activity taking place.

See the following deliverables