BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
CSpanias
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello all,

I am brand new to SAS programming and I am trying to learn everything on the go. I managed to complete the SAS Foundations 1 course which helped me greatly, but I am still troubled by some things I am seeing and I hoped that I could get some help here. 

You can find below a snippet of a long macro definition:

data work.&brand._intl_all(keep=walker_gl principal_amt  no_cc gbp no_bal no_glcode outrec) 
        work.&brand._intl_pop(drop= no_cc gbp no_bal no_glcode outrec); * create two SAS tables;

if _n_ eq 1 then
        do;
            declare hash CC(dataset:"workspds.liq_walker_cc_&YYYY_MM.");
            CC.definekey('walker_costcentre');
            CC.definedone();
         end;

set &libre..liq_&brand._intl_extract_&yyyy_mm. (rename=(derived_cc=WALKER_COSTCENTRE)) end=eof;

From my limited understanding, this DATA STEP:

1. imports the &libre..liq_&brand._intl_extract_&yyyy_mm. table
  2. creates two new temporary tables based on that:
    1. work.&brand._intl_all(keep=walker_gl principal_amt no_cc gbp no_bal no_glcode outrec)
    2. work.&brand._intl_pop(drop= no_cc gbp no_bal no_glcode outrec);
  3. applies some modifications, i.e. keeping / dropping columns.

The thing is that only the first two columns, i.e. walker_gl and principal_amt, are located in the imported table. All others, i.e. no_cc, gbp, no_bal, no_glcode, and outrec, are global variables that were defined at the very top of the program.

So, I have two questions:

1. Is work.&brand._intl_all(keep=walker_gl principal_amt no_cc gbp no_bal no_glcode outrec) keeping just those two columns from the imported table and adding the global variables as columns initialized all to 0?