BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
nharuka
Obsidian | Level 7

I have a longitudinal dataset with several observations per person. I'm trying to make a cumulative weeks count for each person. How can I do this? I'm a SAS beginner so any help would be appreciated!

data have; input ID weeks; datalines; 1 0.0 1 0.0 1 1.0 1 1.5 2 0.0 2 2.5 2 3.5 3 0.0 3 0.5 3 4.5 3 4.58

I want the dataset to look like this

ID  Weeks  Cuml

1    0.0        0.0

1    0.0        0.0

1    1.0        1.0

1    1.5        2.5

2    0.0        0.0

2    2.5        2.5

2    3.5        6.0

3    0.0        0.0

3    0.5        0.5

3    4.5        5.0

3    4.58      9.58

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Log?

Is your data sorted by the ID variable? You might be seeing a previous version of the output data set that wasn't replaced because of a sort error.

Or if you have a variable in the Have data set already named Cumul_wks. Retain will reset when the new record is brought into the data vector if that variable is in the source data.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
nharuka
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi! I tried using that example, but the problem is that the count doesn't reset for each new ID number, which I need it to do. How can I modify the code for the to reset for each new ID number?

data new;
    set have;
    by ID;
    if first.id then do;
        cumul_wks=0;
    end;
    cumul_wks + weeks;
run;
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Are there errors in the log?

If so, we need to see the log (all of it for this DATA step, every single character, every single line, nothing chopped out) copied as text and pasted into your reply in the window that appears after you click on the </> icon.

Are there errors in the output?

If so, show us a screen capture. Make the screen capture and click on the "Insert Photos" icon.

--
Paige Miller
ballardw