BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Biscuitmuncher
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Hopefully somebody may be able to give me a steer as I’m fairly new to base SAS. I’m preparing a dataset for import to VA (version 7.3).I have the following dataset following a transpose procedure. I  am trying to construct a cumulative total for each product by its stage (A,R and U), its status, area and town. I had thought of using by variables in a data step would be the way forward but I have not been able to get it to work. Does anybody have any suggestions please?

Dayno

Product

Status

Area

Town

Stage A

StageR

StageU

Daily_Tot

DGSEPCHI

E

HWB

NMSW

DGSEPCHI

H

HWB

NMSW

DGSEPCHI

O

HWB

APS

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGSEPCHI

H

HWB

NMSW

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGLW4

H

SASS

CJC

DGSEPCHI

H

HWB

APS

8 REPLIES 8
mkeintz
PROC Star

Please show the forum

1. What the output with cumulative totals should look like,
  2. The program with BY statements that you tried, along with the results

Then you will get a better level of help.

--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set

Would enabling PROC SORT to simultaneously output multiple datasets be useful? Then vote for
Allow PROC SORT to output multiple datasets

--------------------------
Biscuitmuncher
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for responding. I have included the output I am trying to achieve earlier in the thread. Any thoughts and ideas would be great.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I  am trying to construct a cumulative total for each product by its stage (A,R and U), its status, area and town.

Cumulative total of which variable?

--
Paige Miller
Biscuitmuncher
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,