BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Gauri123-56
Fluorite | Level 6
I'm new to sas programming don't know how to create tables. Actually I want to create table of adverse events like the format attached below
6 REPLIES 6
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

We need to see the source data; please provide an example, in text form, ideally as a data step with datalines, and also an example for the expected report.

Post SAS code by using the "little running man" button; for other structured text (e.g. logs), use the </> button.

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@Gauri123-56 What your pdf shows is not a table but a report. 

You will first need to do some training before you are able to produce such a report.

Google: What is a SAS table

Patrick_0-1675241045717.png

A report is the presentation/printing of the data stored in a table in some tabular form.

Looking at your pdf the most likely SAS procedure to use is Proc Report. You would also need to format your data so it presents/prints the way you want it to.

Unlike your subject line suggests there is no SAS Macro language required for such a report. Don't even go there before you're familiar with the SAS data step language and the "foundation" set of SAS procedures like Proc Report.

Gauri123-56
Fluorite | Level 6
Yes I have this code using proc report but I want to do this using
macros...
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@Gauri123-56 wrote:
macros...

SAS macro language is used to dynamically generate SAS language syntax for execution. SAS macro langue is not suited nor meant for report writing. 

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@Gauri123-56 wrote:
macros...

Bullshit. Macros are for creating dynamic code, not for creating reports. As others have already suggested, you need to first become deeply familiar with data step programming and the use of essential procedures (SORT, REPORT, MEANS, FREQ, TABULATE, SQL, TRANSPOSE, to name just a few) before you can even think about macro programming.