BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ronin
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, 

I am a complete novice to SAS and programming. I have used a set of code to create new variable in a dataset based on value of other variable in the same dataset and it worked:

libname lib "Mylib";
data lib.mydata;
set lib.mydata;
if WEEK<=1968 then GRP=1;
else GRP=2;
run;

proc print data=lib.mydata;
run;

here, based on the WEEK variable (numeric) values I have created a new numeric variable GRP with only two values 1 or 2 

This actually worked and gave me desired column accurately. But when I tried to apply similar logic in another dataset its giving different output:

libname lib "mylib";
data lib.mydata2;
set lib.mydata2;
if VAR2="Tier 1" then VAR3=1;
else if VAR2="Tier 2" then VAR3=2;
else VAR3=3;
run;

proc print data=lib.mydata2;
run;

I even tried by changing this code to:

libname lib "mylib";
data lib.mydata2;
set lib.mydata2;
if VAR2="Tier 1" then VAR3=1;
else if VAR2="Tier 2" then VAR3=2;
else if VAR3= "Control" then VAR3=3;
run;

proc print data=lib.mydata2;
run;

Here I am trying to create VAR3(1,2,3) a numeric variable based on the the character variable VAR2 (Tier 1, Tier 2 and Control). Such that:

VAR2VAR3
Tier 11
Tier 22
Control3

But the output is taking VAR3=3 for all the observations and the values for VAR3 shifted in the output to the next row starting for each observation

The output of this code (.lst file) looks like the the data available in the text file attached here.

Please have a look and guide me why this is not working. Kindly help me with right code. 

9 REPLIES 9
VDD
Ammonite | Level 13 VDD
Ammonite | Level 13

First
else if VAR2= "Control" then VAR3=3;

not

else if VAR3 = "Control" then VAR3=3;

Ronin
Obsidian | Level 7
else if VAR2= "Control" then VAR3=3;
Yes that is what I have used in the code....My mistake for typo error here in asking question
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User