BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Pre1
Calcite | Level 5

I am a beginner to SAS - I am not super familiar with macros.

I need to create labels for 300+ variables in my dataset.

Variable names and labels are stored both in a textfile, and an excel file
(Column 1 is the variable name, column 2 is the associated label)

How would I go about doing this? Are macros the best solution?

8 REPLIES 8
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

You can create the PROC DATASETS code in a DATA _NULL_ step with CALL EXECUTE, or write it to an external file that you later execute with %INCLUDE.

Reeza
Super User
Here's one way.
https://gist.github.com/statgeek/f18931085f6a0009185c

Because you have 300 variables the macro approach may not work exactly as shown, you may need to loop each rename or use CALL EXECUTE instead. If you search on here, I know I've coded that solution at least twice 🙂
Pre1
Calcite | Level 5
Thank you, so something like this?
https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Programming/How-do-I-create-LABEL-for-large-no-of-Variables/td-p/... Would I need the code you linked, or just this one? For both to work, I have to import the excel with the names into SAS as a separate dataset, right?
Reeza
Super User
You need just one solution, and you do need to import the data from Excel into SAS to use it with either dynamic method except the copy/paste option.
Reeza
Super User
And the really quick & lazy solution, in Excel, create a new column and add in the function that does the following:

=concatenate(variablename, " = ", "'", variableLabel, "'")

That should create the text as follows in your Excel file:

age = 'Age in Years'
name = 'Name'
weight = 'Weight(lbs)'

Label + copy paste that new column from excel + semicolon and you're done.
Pre1
Calcite | Level 5
And just copy and paste that into SAS? That's doable but I guess the code will be very long
ballardw
Super User

@Pre1 wrote:
And just copy and paste that into SAS? That's doable but I guess the code will be very long