BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JDDowell
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm trying to create a new column for every month of the year from values in a date column which is formatted as follows...

Date: 

01/01/2008

02/01/2008

03/01/2008

10/01/2019

11/01/2019

12/01/2019 

So every month of the year from '08-'19.

I would like all values of January to be in one columns, as well as columns for all the other individual months so that I can see the individual effects each month has on expenditure in a regression.

I thought that I might be able to search the date columns for the "MM/" part of MM/DD/YY and ignore the rest with a wildcard, then add those values to a new column called "MM", but I didn't have any luck. 

I'm very new to SAS and might not have even known if I was searching for the right question, so apologies if this has been answered elsewhere. 

10 REPLIES 10
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I assume there are other variables that we need to make use of when we re-arrange the data set.

Can you show us a more realistic input data set, and the desired output data set? In particular, this isn't clear to me: "I would like all values of January to be in one columns". Do you mean there is one January column regardless of year, or is there a Jan08 column and a Jan09 column and so on?

--
Paige Miller
JDDowell
Fluorite | Level 6

SG.1.PNG

You are correct, I would like for there to be a single January column containing different 'Total' values, a single column for February and so on.

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

1) Is your data in external file or a sas dataset ?

If it is external then the date is probably a CHAR type.
     What format is the date: DD/MM/YYYY or MM/DD/YYYY ? It is not clear from your example dates.

If it is a sas dataset, is the date a sas numeric date ? Maybe what you see is formated display ?

2) why do you want each month in separate column ?

Do you want it in a report ? or in a new sas dataset?