BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
km0927
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello, I'm new to use do loop with let macro.

I want to create several new variables, with if conditions on pre-existing variables.

Without using macro, the code will be this. A, B, C .. is old variable, _A, _B, _C ... is new variable.

data want;
set have;
by id;
if first.id then _A=A;
if A=1 then _A=A;
else do;
retain _A.;
end;
run;

data want;
set have;
by id;
if first.id then _B=B;
if B=1 then _B=B;
else do;
retain _B.;
end;
run;

... and so on.

With searching, I found it is better to use let function and do loop. However, I'm new to this. I created the code below (only A, B, C), However, it wasn't working.

%Let var = A B C ;
%Let _var = _A _B _C ;

data want;
set have;

do i = 1 to 3;
by id;
if first.id then scan(&_var.,i,' ')=scan(&var.,i,' ');
if scan(&var.,i,' ')=1 then scan(&_var.,i,' ')=scan(&var.,i,' ')
else do; retain scan(&_var.,i,' ');
end;
end;
run;

With log statement, there was problem in scan. It can't read 'A B C'. I hope somebody help me fixing this problem.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20
%Let var = A B C ;
%Let _var = _A _B _C ;

data want;
set have;
by id;
array j &var;
array k &_var;
retain k;
do over j;
 if first.id or j=1 then k=j;
end;
run;

Hi @km0927  What you need is not macro i'm afraid rather an ARRAY. Please observe the grouping of var and _var in two sets of arrays and the loop that traverses through the elements of the arrays. The implicit array DO OVER makes it a very convenient syntax.  

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20
%Let var = A B C ;
%Let _var = _A _B _C ;

data want;
set have;
by id;
array j &var;
array k &_var;
retain k;
do over j;
 if first.id or j=1 then k=j;
end;
run;