BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
wj2
Quartz | Level 8 wj2
Quartz | Level 8

Hello, I am working with a sample of health record data spanning a one-year period.

I need to know:

1) which providers were full-time, that is, the providers that had at least a total of 416 patient visits (i.e., encounters) in this sample of one year data (416 visits/year = 8 visits/week). 

2) the average number of unique patient visits among all full-time providers

I am new to conducting counting procedures in SAS, but I envision first creating a variable that includes the total number of unique patient visits for each full-time provider and then running a proc means to determine the average number among all full-time providers. I have provided an example of how my data set is organized below. Any help with this would be much appreciated!

Patient_id       encounter_id       visit_provider

111                 123                       a

112                 134                       b

112                 145                       b

113                 231                       c

114                 223                       a

115                 323                       d

116                 443                       d

117                 423                       b

3 REPLIES 3
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@wj2 

Here an option using SQL

data have;
  infile datalines dlm=' ' truncover;
  input Patient_id encounter_id visit_provider $;
  datalines;
111 123 a
112 134 b
112 145 b
113 231 c
114 223 a
115 323 d
116 443 d
117 423 b
;
run;

proc sql;
/*  create table want as*/
  select
      visit_provider,
      count(encounter_id) as n_encounters,
      count(encounter_id)/count(distinct patient_id) as avg_encounter_per_patient
  from have
  group by visit_provider
  ;
quit;
wj2
Quartz | Level 8 wj2
Quartz | Level 8

Hi @Patrick,

Thank you for the suggestion! Would you also be able to suggest an option using a data step? 

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@wj2 wrote:

Hi @Patrick,