BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
abd_khan11
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! I'm new to SAS and was performing some data cleansing. I'm aware of the existence of a variety of date formats and was curious as to whether there was a relevant one for the one I'm trying to convert. The dates look like this: 01M_2017Q1 (01=first month of quarter, Q1=first quarter). I'd like to convert this to a date that provides the month and year of the given date. Any and all help is appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I think you are looking for an INFORMAT, not a FORMAT.  Formats convert values to text.  Informats convert text to values.

If you want to convert those strings into dates you can probably just parse the values and convert them into a date value. This code will assume you want the first day of the month. 

You can then attach any of the many date formats to the variable to display it in a way that humans will recognize. YYMM7 is one that displays only the year and month part.

data have ;
  input string $10. ;
cards;
01M_2017Q1
02M_2017Q1
03M_2017Q1
01M_2017Q2
;

data want;
  set have;
  date = intnx('month',input(scan(string,2,'_'),yyq6.),input(string,2.)-1);
  format date yymm7.;
run;

Result:

Obs      string         date

1     01M_2017Q1    2017M01
 2     02M_2017Q1    2017M02
 3     03M_2017Q1    2017M03
 4     01M_2017Q2    2017M04

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

I doubt that an out-of-the-box informat exists.

Question: Would 01M_2017Q2 represent the first month of the second quarter of 2017? Meaning 01Apr2017

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I'm not sure I'd bother with a informat. Parse the string, turn the results into a SAS date value.

data want;
    date_string='01M_2017Q1';
    month=substr(date_string,1,2);
    year=substr(date_string,5,4);