BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ann297
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,everone.

I am new to SAS and learning GWAS, I want to do followed things in SAS program:

Using “X_Y” present the genotype with the these form and convert them into numeric, like “A_G"= 0,

"X_X" present “A_A"=1, and "Y_Y" as "G_G"=2,
Moreover, I have thousands of these data. The same, set “G_C”=0 (like form of X_Y), “G_G”=1(X_X),“C_C”=2(Y_Y) colunm by colunm.
My SAS program followed. My confusion is how to define the form (X_Y), (X_X), (Y_Y), them i can select all the observations with the same format in SAS.

I do a loop to convert the genotype into 0, 1, 2, but only including the genotype 'AA', 'AG', 'AC' 

Ann297_1-1677725259324.png

This one i want to use XY to define a form to selecting genotype with the same format.

Ann297_0-1677725238693.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

In the DATA step, use the IN operator, and the mutually exclusive ELSE IF:

if svars{i} in ("A_A","T_T","C_C") then gvars{i} = 0;
else if substr(svars{i},1,2) in ("A_","T_","C_") then gvars{i} = 1;
else gvars{i} = 2;

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ballardw
Super User

If you have a lot of variables with the same values that need to be mapped then perhaps a custom informat or format is better as it is an assignment statement instead of a bunch of if/then/else or Case/when blocks.

An example of some of what I think you are wanting:

proc format;
invalue xvalues (upcase)
'X_Y','A_A'=0
'X_X','A_G'=1
'Y_Y','A_C'=2
other= . 
;
run;

data example;
   input s $ t $ u $ v $;
datalines;
X_x z_x X_ X_Y
X_X Y_Y X_Y Y_Y
A_A X_Y A_c A_g
;
/* how to use to create a numeric variable*/
data use;
   set example;
   array in(*) s t u v;
   array out(4);
   do i=1 to dim(in);
      out[i]=input(in[i],xvalues.);
   end;
run;