BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jordani
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi , 

I am new to sas. I imported my data from excel  into sas and date is shwoing in this format ( 12Jul2014). I am trying to convert it into SAS format so I can calculate time intervals but it didnt work.  I used the following code 

Date New 

Set Old 

Newdate = input(olddate, date9.);

run;

The newdate variable have nothing but zeros .

any help will be appreciated 

5 REPLIES 5
ballardw
Super User

First thing would be to check the status of the existing variable. Either us Proc Contents or properties of the variable by clicking on the column header when looking at the table. Check what the current assigned Format is. It is likely to be DATE9 already. If the Olddate variable is character check the spelling of the existing variable. If it isn't addressed yet then rerun the code and post the log including messages.

Jordani
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Ballardw; 

Thank you for your response. I have run the Proc contents , and the date variable is Numeric , with DATE9. format. Since its numeric, I was able to do subtraction and calculate the time intervals.

Thank you very much. 

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

To further elaborate on your initial scenario:

This code:

data old;
input olddate date9.;
format olddate date9.;
cards;
27sep2016
;
run;

data new;
set old;
newdate = input(olddate,date9.);
run;

will create the following log:

24         data new;
25         set old;
26         newdate = input(olddate,date9.);
27         run;

NOTE: Numeric values have been converted to character values at the places given by: (Line):(Column).
      26:17   
NOTE: Invalid argument to function INPUT at line 26 column 11.
olddate=27SEP2016 newdate=. _ERROR_=1 _N_=1
NOTE: Mathematical operations could not be performed at the following places. The results of the operations have been set to 
      missing values.
      Each place is given by: (Number of times) at (Line):(Column).
      1 at 26:11