BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
i-cant-read
Calcite | Level 5

Hello friends!

First of all, I'm a newbie in the SAS world and I'm starting my journey recently, so sorry if I don't explain very well what I need, an thanks for all support.

I have a table with various customer purchase data, divided by month. What I need is to see if the customer_Id of the cost_set20 table appears in the subsequent tables (nov20, dec20, jan21, [...] aug21)

And then whenever it appears I need to mark in another table the client_id, the last month it appeared, and the number of times it appeared in the query that was made.

The truth is that I have no idea how to do this, I understand the logical sequence, but I wouldn't know how to assemble a query that would do this for me.I have a test coming soon for a job in the area and I wanted to get there by understanding how to do this. Thank you all

5 REPLIES 5
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

It would be helpful if you can show us a small portion of one of these data sets, and the exact data set names of ALL of the relevant data sets. Also, I think the answer will depend on how many customers you have (approximately), the answer for millions of customers might be different than if you are talking about 25 customers.

--
Paige Miller
i-cant-read
Calcite | Level 5

Come on, I'll try to gather the data here...

For starters, my initial base (customers who bought in September 2021) has approximately 555,000 lines and the set of customers between October 2021 and August 2022 has 8 million lines divided between these months.

First we have my acrdbase_mpr_exp base table with the September purchases. it has some fields that we don't have in the others, but the customer identification field (customer_Id) we will have in all of them. Only the date part needs attention as it is in DDMMYYYY format.

icantread_1-1664205675998.png

The customer tables in the following months are:

WORK.ACRD_OCT21
WORK.ACRD_NOV21
WORK.ACRD_DEC21
WORK.ACRD_JAN22