BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jack_Loktiev
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone.

I'm new to SAS and I'm trying to solve the following problem.

I have a number of company names (>1000). And I have a number of "approved" companies (around 50), for which names are only substrings of the official name. I need to check if a company is approved. For example:

Company list: "ABC Inc.", "Western Something Group Inc.", "Goose and partners LLP"

Approved list: "ABC", "Goose"

It should return "ABC Inc." and "Goose and partners LLP". Or mark them as "TRUE" in the dataset.

I understand that for each company ( "ABC Inc.") I need to loop over the list of approved companies and check if a substring is in a company name (FIND function I guess). I would imagine that it should be done in a data step because it will loop over the Company list. But I can't put it all together. 

I'd appreciate any ideas. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@Jack_Loktiev wrote:

Hi everyone.

I have a number of company names (>1000). And I have a number of "approved" companies (around 50), for which names are only substrings of the official name. I need to check if a company is approved. For example:

Company list: "ABC Inc.", "Western Something Group Inc.", "Goose and partners LLP"

It should return "ABC Inc." and "Goose and partners LLP". Or mark them as "TRUE" in the dataset.

I understand that for each company ( "ABC Inc.") I need to loop over the list of approved companies and check if a substring is in a company name (FIND function I guess). I would imagine that it should be done in a data step because it will loop over the Company list. But I can't put it all together. 

Here is an example of doing something similar with a data set you should have access to so you can test the code.

data example;
   set sashelp.class;