BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
luenhchang2
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am a R programmer recapping SAS programming. I usually check the existence of folders and files in the beginning of my R program. I am looking to do the same in my SAS program. I found a working SAS macro that checks the existence of a single path. I have attempted to tweak the macro to include multiple directories in the macro parameter. The macro %check_existence_single_directory  is working. The macro %check_existence_directory, tweaked from the macro, is probably working. My folder paths contain special characters, such dots and dashes. My questions

- How do I mask these characters in the paths?

- What does this line do?

%let rc=%sysfunc(filename(fileref)) ;

- If you are able to spot any problems with the macro %check_existence_directory, please let me know how it can be improved.

Thanks

/*Set up local directory*/
%let drive_E= E:\Lab_MarkS\lunC_work ;
%let folder_path_SAS_macro= &drive_E.\library_genetics_epidemiology\SAS_macros_chang ;
%let folder_path_Exp108= &drive_E.\Immunohistochemistry_images\data_output\AP_Exp108.1_PeterMac-lungCancer-CD8-PD1\analysis-results ;

/*SAS macro to check existence of a single directory (working)*/ %macro check_existence_single_directory(dir=) ; *options noxwait; %local rc fileref ; %let rc = %sysfunc(filename(fileref,&dir)) ; %if %sysfunc(fexist(&fileref)) %then %put NOTE: The directory "&dir" exists ; %else %do ; %sysexec md &dir ; %put %sysfunc(sysmsg()) The directory has been created. ; %end ; %let rc=%sysfunc(filename(fileref)) ; %mend check_existence_single_directory ; /*An example of running the macro %include "E:\Lab_MarkS\lunC_work\library_genetics_epidemiology\SAS_macros_chang\check_directory_exist.sas"; %check_existence_single_directory(dir=&drive_E.); */

/*SAS macro to check existence of multiple directories (working?)*/
%macro check_existence_directory(paths=) ; 
   *options noxwait; 
   %local rc fileref ;