BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ashish112
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello Experts,

I am working on some SAS application, I have stuck in between where I have to change few column names from another file. 

In detail: I have attached two csv file here, Data1 and Data2.  I want to change few column names of Data1 file. The new name is available in Data2 file, column name "new name". I want to replace the old name to new name in Data1 file.  Need your help. It might be easy but I am new to SAS, so for me its difficult.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Look, we cannot guess what is happening your end.  Please post test data - which gives actual examples of what you are working with - for both datasets, in the form of a datastep.  Then show the code you are running.  Then show the log that it is created.  The code I presented above works fine given the parameters know by me - that person not sitting at your desk looking at your work:

proc sql noprint;
  select cats(oldname,'=',newname) 
  into   :renames separated by ' ' 
  from   import1
  where  upcase(oldname) in (select name from sashelp.vcolumn where libname="WORK" and memname="IMPORT2");
quit;

proc datasets library= work nolist;
modify import;
rename &renames;
run;
quit;

View solution in original post

27 REPLIES 27
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
/* UNTESTED CODE */
proc import datafile='data1.csv' dbms=csv out=data1;
run;

proc import datafile='data2.csv' dbms=csv out=_names_;
run;

proc sql noprint;
    select cats(old_name,'=',new_name) separated by ' ' into :renames from _names_;
quit;

proc datasets library=work nolist;
    modify data1;
    change &renames;
run; quit;
--
Paige Miller
ashish112
Fluorite | Level 6
syntax error comes for cats function
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26