BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi SAS Users,

Normally, we use RETAIN to reorder the columns in a dataset.

For example, I have a list of column names as below

GVKEY IID DATADATE CIK CONML LOC SIC ISIN SEDOL EXCHG AJEXDI CSHOC CSHTRD CURCDD PRCCD PRCHD PRCLD PRCSTD TPCI TRFD ex_rate gviidkey prccd_abs prccd_abs_ lagprccd_abs_ lagajexdi lagtrfd raw_return log_raw_return raw_return_abs dollar_vol

/*I highlight DATADATE and gviidkey manually for noticing purpose*/

Normally if I want to put gviidkey and DATADATE in the first two columns, I did:

data have;
	retain gviidkey DATADATE;
	set have;
run;

However, if I want to put the two columns (GVKEY and IID) to the last columns of the dataset, what I should do without typing all column names in retain statement?

Warm regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mkeintz
PROC Star

@Phil_NZ wrote:

Hi @mkeintz 

Thank you for your explanation

I saw a lot of discussions using the phrase "if 0 then set(merge)", but now I faced in my discussion.

I myself read the document but I still do not understand why you use it here. Could you please briefly explain it to me and what does it play in your code here?

And I do not understand why there are two datasets have in the code. I am not able to understand the mechanism behind, could you please explain it to me ?

if 0 then set have (keep=gvkey iid) have;

Thank you.

The purpose of this code is to obligate the compiler of the data step to order variables as you want .  It relies on the fact that the compiler will arrange variables in the order they are encountered in the code.

So the statement

if 0 then set have (drop=gvkey iid)  have;