BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Top_Rankin
Fluorite | Level 6

Hey Everyone,

For whatever reason I'm having an issue with putting my data into the %Squeeze macro (http://support.sas.com/kb/24/addl/fusion24805_1_squeeze2.html)<--actual code and (http://support.sas.com/kb/24/805.html)<--explanation of the code. I'm a huge novice when it comes to using these so please bear with me.

Wherever it says "DSNIN", it says put input sas dataset here. I do that and i replace DSNIN with my own "brickscon" and then change the DSNOUT to "brickscon2" and when I hit run, absolutely nothing happens and my log just shows the whole log as black. I feel like this is an incredibly basic task yet I don't know why I'm of having a hard time. Please help. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Top_Rankin
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for your response. I actually ended up figuring it out after messing around with it. For those of you who are interested (it may have been obvious the whole time), here's what I did. To use the %squeeze macro code,  you first run as is (copy and paste the code as given by sas WITHOUT any modification). So don't insert your data input or anything and let it run. Should be all black in the logs. Then afterwards use this code 

libname sample
'C:\Program Files\SAS Institute\SAS\V8\dmine\sample' ;
proc contents data=sample.dmdcens ; run ;
%SQUEEZE( sample.dmdcens, squozen )
proc contents data=squozen ; run ;

Here is where you would insert your own data. The purpose of this code is to reduce number and character bytes to reduce the memory file of your data. Great for big data sets. Thanks!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Top_Rankin
Fluorite | Level 6