BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Boswser
Obsidian | Level 7
Thanks for any help! I’ll try to be concise.

I am new to SAS and have inherited a SAS run that outputs a table with 15 columns, which I export as an excel file and deliver.

The recipient would now like it as a .txt file with fixed-width columns, and has provided the character limit/width for each column.

Is this something that can be done in query builder, so I can just query the existing table rather than modifying the code in the run? I tried filling the field for ‘Length’ when you add a column to query builder, but it did not have the desired result.

I have attempted to use filename and PUT statements to output a .txt file, but am running into access issues I’m currently working on with the admin team. I’m hoping I can just do this in query builder to get it done but I’m not sure if it’s possible to have QB output a results table with fixed width columns?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jimbarbour
Meteorite | Level 14

You should literally code it with the literal WORK.  WORK is the libname.  SAS will then retrieve the path for you.

%let temp_path=%sysfunc(pathname(WORK));

Jim

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
jimbarbour
Meteorite | Level 14

If you're exporting to an Excel file, why not just export from Excel as fixed length/fixed position text?  Excel likes to do csv or tab delimited text, but you can export it to a .prn file which is space filled and then rename it to .txt.

jimbarbour_0-1624413007157.png

Jim

Boswser
Obsidian | Level 7
Thank you Jim. The file is written to a specific shared folder so it can be automatically picked up by another process, which is why it needs the fixed widths. So we want it to export right from SAS EG and into that shared folder.
jimbarbour
Meteorite | Level 14