BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,
While using the proc sql statement to connect the sas to oracle,it is needed to enter the user id and password.My question is i don't want to display the password in the code, is there any way to do that.

eg: proc sql;
connect to oracle (user= password= path=);
quit;

Thanks in advance
5 REPLIES 5
deleted_user
Not applicable
I am new in SAS
what does this statement do?

connect to oracle (user= password= path=);

Does it ask for the prompt to enter the user name and password?
rab24
Calcite | Level 5
Are you using EG4? You can make your password a macro variable and use the parameter manager to prompt you for a password everytime you run the code. This will result in the password showing up in your log, but that is easier to clear than your code.

Rkmalkani, it is a code to connect to a secured server. You need to enter a username and password to the code before it will work. Keeping it blank does not make it prompt for me. Message was edited by: rab24
HoustonGSC
Calcite | Level 5
> Hi,
> While using the proc sql statement to connect the
> sas to oracle,it is needed to enter the user id and
> password.My question is i don't want to display the
> password in the code, is there any way to do that.
>
> eg: proc sql;
> connect to oracle (user= password= path=);
> quit;
>
> Thanks in advance

Is the PWENCODE proc available to you to encrypt your password and then it can be read in by your PROC SQL code?

Best Regards,
Gil.
LAP
Quartz | Level 8 LAP
Quartz | Level 8
There are two different methods that come to mind

1) Define a macro variable with %let statements in an external file and %include the file in my batch code. (security through obscurity)

IE In an external file...

%let pw = mypassword;
%let uid = myuserid;

In batch code
proc sql;
connect to oracle (user=&uid password=&pw path=);
quit;