BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Red_Squirrel
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I am quite new to SAS programming therefore would appreciate any input on the possible solution of the problem I have!

I have the following data

value1 value2 value3 average1 required_result

1              9         12           7               7

8              6         9             6               7

4              7        10            2               7

6              2          1            8               7

.               .           .              .       

7              9         16           24              24

.               .           .              .                24

X              Y          Z            W

I need to do the following:

- If row n has got the following trend - value1 > value2> value3, then use the first encountered average1 value for the next 4 rows;

- after 4 rows calculate if value1 > value2 > value3 is true. If it is true then use the next first encountered average1 value for another 4 rows;

- repeat.

for example, in the first row value1 > value2> value3 (1 > 9 > 12) therefore we need to use average1 = 7 the next 4 rows starting from the first one.

can you please advise how this can be coded in SAS?

thank you so much for all your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

OK, it's looking a little clearer.  The OR condition should look at SAVED_AVERAGE, rather than REQUIRED_RESULT.  SAVED_AVERAGE is retained, but REQUIRED_RESULT begins each observation as missing:

If ((value1 < value2 < value3) or (value1 < saved_average and value2 < saved_average and value3 < saved_average)) and (_n_ > 2) and (_n_ > max_recordnum) then do;

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
Ksharp
Super User

I am confused. Why 1 > 9 > 12   ?

data have;

input value1 value2 value3 average1 ;

cards;