BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
justchecking
Calcite | Level 5
Hi all -

This is a relatively simple question, but I for the life of me - and it's embarassign - cannot find a solution (yes, a newbie here).

I'm importing lists of order ids (a numerical variable) to work with in SAS. However, when reading in the files, I get an error message. Researching the lists, I realized some of the variables contain a character value - "NULL". I just cannot seem to find a way to delete values with "NULL" when reading in the file. I prefer to do this through SAS than manually through Excel in order to minimize possible errors. My question is - is there, when reading in numerical value, a way to delete values that don't meet the criteria (character values)? Here's the code I use to read in the file.

data ds_name;
infile '/export/SAS/users/jones//list_files//ds_name.txt'
delimiter='09'x MISSOVER DSD lrecl=32767 firstobs=1;

informat order_id 11.;
format order_id 11.;
input order_id;

if order_id = . then delete;
run;

I also tried the following but got a log filled with error messages, and know it's because SAS is reading the values as numerical data:

data ds_name;

informat order_id 11.;
format order_id 11.;
input order_id;

if order_id = 'NULL' then delete;
run;

Any help is appreciated! If you have any questions and or need clarification, don't hesitate to let me know. Thanks in advance.
4 REPLIES 4
DBailey
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
How about:

data ds_name(drop=t_order_id);
length t_order_id $11 order_id 8;
format order_id 11.;
input t_order_id;
if t_order_id ne '' and t_order_id ne 'NULL';
order_id=input(t_order_id,11.);
run;
RickM
Fluorite | Level 6
If you want to avoid the notes about invalid character values then read the field in as character. You can then use the anyalpha() function to check for characters and delete them. A input() funtion can then convert the remaining values to numeric.

Good luck!
data_null__
Jade | Level 19
> Hi all -