BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I have data which contains list of people with their sex, age and the country they moved from and the state they moved to:

NAME AGE SEX FROM TO
John Smith 25 M Canada Maryland
Mary Fernandez 4 F Spain Illinois
etc.

I need 2 datasets (one for males and one for females) for each US state:

In these datasets there should be numbers of people moving to the particular state totalled per foreign country by sex and age.

For example I should be able to look at the Maryland (male) table and see that 12 men aged 36 moved there from Canada for example.

Anyone have any idea how I can do this or even get started? I am not a programmer and I am stuck. Thanks!

mu Message was edited by: michaelaunsworth
4 REPLIES 4
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Use PROC FREQ and output the table to a dataset, then split the dataset (or run FREQ twice, once for men and once for women; men shown below):

PROC FREQ DATA=mydata(WHERE=(sex='M'));
TABLES to*from*age/out=males;
RUN;
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thanks Doc, the HTML output is exactly what I was looking for

Other than cutting and pasting, is there any way of getting the tables in the HTML output into either a SAS dataset or an excel dataset?
ssas
Calcite | Level 5
Hi,
in my view first prepare the dataset first ( sdata).
later

data maledataset femaledataset;
set sdata;
if gender eq "F" then output femaledataset;
else if gender eq "M" then output maledataset;
run;

/* it would create one for male and another for female.*/

hope it may help you
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
One approach to getting the output into a dataset or export is to use ODS. You can create/output/manipulate pretty much anything you can print from a procedure. You'll need to read a good bit of documentation or BBUs to become proficient, but the results can be quite useful.

sas-innovate-2024.png