data ttest; set test;

%do var14_t_0=lag(var14);

%do i=1 %to 6; var14_t_&i=lag(var14_t_%eval(&i-1));

%end;

drop var14;

run;

%mend;

%test;

the var14 is a variable name with which, I'm using the lag function. However, I have a lot of variables in my table. I'm trying to automate the variable naming but I'm sure how to do this.

I thought about the following:

Use proc sql to create a table like below:

proc sql; create table label as select name from dictionary.columns where memname = upcase('Afr') and name not in ('date'); 

Once the table created, I would only need to take the variable name from inside the label table. But the issue is I'm not sure how to link the code above with my table.

I'm not saying I need the table and I may need something else but I'm unsure of the steps as I'm new to SAS.

Thanks in advance for any tips you can provide.

5 REPLIES 5
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Not sure what you are trying to get to here, perhaps provide test data and what you want out.  There are various methods you could try, arrays for instance, or call executing to generate the code.

Astounding
PROC Star

Since you already created LABEL, let's take it from that point.  One possible line of attack is CALL EXECUTE.

data _null_;

call execute ('data want; set have;');

do until (done);

set label end=done;

do _n_=1 to 6;

call execute(trim(name) || '_' || put(_n_, 1.) || '= lag' || put(_n_,1.) || '(' || name || ');');

end;

end;

call execute('run;');

stop;

run;

The advantage:  it's relatively short and direct.  The disadvantage:  the tools are somewhat sophisticated, not where you would want to venture when relatively new to SAS.  But no approach will be simple since you are essentially writing a program whose task it is to construct the program that you need.

Good luck.

Reeza
Super User

What are you trying to do overall, why do you need this specific naming convention?