BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Benbo123321
Calcite | Level 5

SAS newbie here.  I'm trying to export a SAS dataset of approximately 40 million observations and 110 variables  so that it can be read by someone with Excel or Access.

I really want to avoid making 21 excel workbooks with 1,048,575 records and 1 workbook of 154,150 records.

Also, how do I retain the header row for each subset? 

Thanks in advance.

Ben

6 REPLIES 6
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Why on earth would you want to put 40mil rows out to Excel??  I doubt even the most ethusiatic person is going to want to see that kind of data.

You *could* do it:

ods tagsets.excelxp file="...xls";

ods tagsets.excelxp (sheet="Sheet1" auto_Filter=yes);

proc report... first observations....;

ods tagset.excelxp (sheet="Sheet2"...

However you are pretty much going to break it.  40 million records is going to be a huge gigabyte spanning monstrosity which Excel probably wont even be able to open.

art297
Opal | Level 21

I think the answer will depend upon how the new workbook(s)/worksheet(s) will be used.  Since Excel can handle 1,048,576 rows with 16,384 columns each, you could put 148 observations on each row, and thus end up only using up 270,271 rows.

Benbo123321
Calcite | Level 5

Would Access be better? how would I go about doing that?

Ben

art297
Opal | Level 21

I think that Access would be limited to 2GB and no fields could be greater than 255 characters. If you exceed those limitations, than no.

If you are within those limits, and license SAS/Access for PC File Formats, you might be able to get away with something as simple as proc export.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

It really depends on what you intend doing with the data.  As I always say Excel is not designed for <insert your task here> in any way shape or form.  Then fact that it can be shoehorned in just shows how bad and dangerous it is.