BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Greek
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello!

I am new to SAS and even though I use it daily, I still haven't been able to have the basics down. I have a data set with repetitive values and I would like to get rid of them. For example, I would like to transform the first table below into the second table below. I am trying to count each employee only one time. Does anybody know how to delete observations vertically?

observationemployeeYSBSPay

observationemployeeYSBSPay

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Vince28_Statcan
Quartz | Level 8

the 2 simple approaches when ALL variables of records are idential to kill such duplicates are

proc sql;

create table want as

select distinct *

from have;

quit;

distinct * only selects the first occurence of fully identical records, sorted or not.

A sas procedure alternative is

proc sort data=have out=want nodups;

by employee ysbs;

run;

If you don't use the out= newdataset option, this procedure will alter your existing dataset and remove the duplicates in it making it unable to recover. If it's an intermediate dataset it can be worthwhile to do so to save memory. The SQL approach has the advantage of not wasting computing time on re-sorting the data.

I'm sure other people will propose different approaches, this is how I do it.

Vincent

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Vince28_Statcan
Quartz | Level 8

the 2 simple approaches when ALL variables of records are idential to kill such duplicates are

proc sql;

create table want as

select distinct *

from have;

quit;

distinct * only selects the first occurence of fully identical records, sorted or not.

A sas procedure alternative is

proc sort data=have out=want nodups;

by employee ysbs;

run;