BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I'm new to SAS and I'm trying to use the proc printto to save my log and I can't get it work right.

I'm trying to reformat character fields into dates on a very large dataset (150 million cases) and as it's running the log fills up and I have to choose one of the options on the window to get it started again. I saw another post where someone else had the same issue and I've tried running the proc printto code but it's not working. The log is not being saved and I get that same window popping up when the log gets full.

I'm guessing that I either don't have the code in the right place or order, or maybe I don't even have the right code. I'm using 9.2 on Windows Vista.

I found this first part on the SAS site and 'myfile' was what they had and I'm not sure what it should be so I left it like it was. The file reference 'N:\Cm_files\date.log' is where I want the log saved.

filename myfile 'N:\Cm_files\date.log';
proc printto log=myfile;
run;

data cm_files.cm_files_merged_9_27_10;
set cm_files.cm_files_merged_9_27_10;
cm_exit_dt=input(cm_exit_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_participation_dt=input(cm_participation_date,yymmdd8.);
birth_dt=input(birth_date,yymmdd8.);
service_begin_dt=input(service_begin_date,yymmdd8.);
service_end_dt=input(service_end_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_attain_deg_cert_dt=input(cm_attain_deg_cert_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_fedrpt_dislocation_dt=input(cm_fedrpt_dislocation_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_first_dol_youth_service_dt=input(cm_first_dol_youth_service_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_first_youth_service_dt=input(cm_first_youth_service_date,yymmdd8.);
cm_fys_lit_num_date=input(cm_fys_lit_num_dt,yymmdd8.);
cm_youth_complete_dt=input(cm_youth_complete_date,yymmdd8.);
fund_source_begin_dt=input(fund_source_begin_date,yymmdd8.);
fund_source_end_dt=input(fund_source_end_date,yymmdd8.);
qualifying_dislocation_dt=input(qualifying_dislocation_date,yymmdd8.);
revision_dt=input(revision_date,yymmdd8.);