Hi,

Data temp;
set input_file;
run;

Data Temp;
Set Temp;
if sal < 1000 then flag=1;
run;.

I know this works,but is this recommended?

Please let me know your valuable comments.
Thanks in advance.
4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
I know that a LOT of folks do this and if you're a programmer who NEVER makes mistakes or logic errors, then this is an OK thing to do. But, I've been programming in SAS for over 20 years and I never do this. Here's why:
1) I used to work for lawyers and one thing they never wanted was for their statistical expert to be on the stand and get asked about why the same named file was being used for both INPUT and OUTPUT.
2) if there's any logic error in the code, you have just overwritten the original file with possible errors. Unless you have a backup of the original WORK.TEMP or INPUT_FILE, you are in trouble recreating or fixing the problem you just introduced.
3) it is harder to explain to beginners what is going on and therefore, only more experienced SAS programmers can maintain the program.

With the code you show, simple as it is, is it probably OK to have
[pre]
data temp;
set temp;
[/pre]

Sure, but the minute you get tempted to add more logic or more data manipulation to the program, I'd do something different. In fact, there's NO reason why you couldn't set the FLAG variable when you read in the INPUT_FILE, like this:
[pre]
Data temp;
set input_file;
if sal < 1000 then flag = 1;
run;

[/pre]

Understanding a bit more about how SAS data steps operate and how to make your programs more efficient would be a good learning exercise. There are a LOT of user group papers and documentation tutorials on how SAS works.

This particular program is rather inefficient
[pre]
Data temp; /* creates work.temp from work.input_file */
set input_file;
run;

Data Temp;
Set Temp; /* REREADS work.temp a second time */
if sal < 1000 then flag=1;
run;

[/pre]