BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I'm new at SAS programming and need help with using macros to run data statements that outputs a file. Because I need to run these statements 12 times (there is a file for each month of the year), I was told to use macros to make things easier but am unsure how this works.
File names are the month and year (e.g., Jan2010, Feb 2010). The code I need to run multiple times is as follows, with macros I was advised to use:

%macro get_time_vars(time_pd, );
data _null_;
set &time_pd._;
file "/export/&time_pd._.tx delimiter='09'x DSD;
format first_name $30.;
format email_address $60.;
put id $ @;
put desc $ @;
run;
%mend;

How do I get this to run 12 times for each month? What would you recommend? Thank you in advance,
A.
4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Let's assume that you have the following files:
[pre]
work.jan creates /export/jan_.tx
work.feb creates /export/feb_.tx
work.mar creates /export/mar_.tx
[/pre]

or

[pre]
work.mm01 creates /export/mm01_.tx
work.mm02 creates /export/mm02_.tx
work.mm03 creates /export/mm03_.tx
[/pre]

One simple way to run the macro 12 times, is to simply invoke the macro 12 times with the new value of &TIME_PD specified for each invocation:
[pre]
%get_time_vars(jan)
%get_time_vars(feb)
%get_time_vars(mar)

OR

%get_time_vars(mm01)
%get_time_vars(mm02)
%get_time_vars(mm03)
[/pre]