BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
raivester
Quartz | Level 8

I am reading xlsx. data into SAS and am using USEDATE=YES. I have two date variables and both are in the exact same format in Excel. (In the cells themselves they appear such as 11-Feb-98 and in the function bar 2/11/1998.) When I use USEDATE and then run a proc print on the resulting dataset, only one of the date variables is transformed to date9 format. Does anyone have ideas why this is happening?

PS: Apologies if my language is off, I am very new to SAS.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Go back to the Excel an make sure the value is a simple date. Sometimes you will find the value is actually a character value that only looks like a date (because Excel provides NO control of any cell content type). If the value is character, and there aren't many of these, then reenter the value and reread the file. Another approach may be to export the xlsx to CSV using File>Save As and read that file. Sometimes the created CSV is more amenable to reading scrambled data.

You might share the entire code you used to read the xlsx file as different approaches may have different alternatives to "fixing" the issue.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Are you sure that both are actually dates? Perhaps one is a string.  Try changing the date display style/format in Excel and see if the value changes.