BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Riversus
Fluorite | Level 6

proc sql;
create table dataset2 as
select var1,

mean(var2) as average,

(select sum(var3) from dataset1 where var2>=1 group by var1),

(select sum(var3) from dataset1 where var2>=1 group by var1)
from dataset1
group by var1;
quit;

ERROR: SUBQUERY EVALUATED TO MORE THAN ONE ROW

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS and I'd like to understand about subqueries. So what I want is to have a table with 4 columns:

1. var1
  2. mean(var2)
  3. sum(var3) only where var2>=1
  4. sum(var3) only where var2<1

Therefore I want the "where" statement to trigger only for the last two columns. The subquery works if I dont add the "group by" but in that case I am not able to have the breakdown by var1. On the other hand if I add the "group by" in the subquery I get this error: Subquery evaluated to more than one row.

I know that I could obtain the same table with joins but I really would like to understand better how to exploit subqueries. 

Thanks in advance for your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

I should add that no subquery or join is needed to perform that operation. You can simply do:

proc sql;
create table dataset2 as
select var1,
	mean(var2) as average,
	sum(var3 * (var2>=1)) as var2Sup1,
	sum(var3 * (var2<1)) as var2Inf1
from dataset1
group by var1;
quit;
PG

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Since you want Var1 to be the same in the main query and the subquery, you must explicitly correlate the subqueries with the main query. Try:

proc sql;
create table dataset2 as
select var1,
	mean(var2) as average,
	(select sum(var3) from dataset1 where var1=A.var1 and var2>=1 group by var1) as var2Sup1,
	(select sum(var3) from dataset1 where var1=A.var1 and  var2<1 group by var1) as var2Inf1
from dataset1 as A
group by var1;
quit;
PG
PGStats