BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
eagles_dare13
Obsidian | Level 7

I have a proc step like this:

proc print data=&tbl_name uniform label;

var col_1 col_2 col_3;

run;

This step runs in a loop and every iteration picks up a different value of a tbl_name which is actually the name of a SAS table.

What I wish to do is:

if &tbl_name = 'cust_table'  then

var cust_id cust_name;

else  if &tbl_name = 'salary_table'  then

var amount currency;

else

/*if the tbl_name does not match any if condition above, then by default select all columns*/

run;

How to do this?  I cannot find the syntax, I am just starting to learn  SAS.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

You would need the macro version of upcase %upcase(&tbl_name) = CUST_TABLE. I think the forum software split the line in my previous post at the % for some unknown reason or my typing isn't quite right this morning.

Anyway make sure if you use an uppercase comparison that the value compared is in uppercase.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ballardw
Super User

If this is running within a macro then use macro conditional logic:

%if &tbl_name = cust_table  %then %do;  /* this comparison will be case sensitive so make sure it matche OR use %upcase(&tbl_name) = CUST_TABLE if you have doubts about case of tbl_name. NOTE: the macro processor pretty much treats everything as a string and quotes to delimit a string in simple comparisons like this are not needed*/

var cust_id cust_name;

%end;

%else  %if &tbl_name = salary_table  %then %do;

var amount currency;

%end;

/*if the tbl_name does not match any if condition above, then by default select all columns*/

run;

eagles_dare13
Obsidian | Level 7

Thank you.

I get error:

ERROR: Required operator not found in expression: upcase(&tbl_name) = cust_table

ballardw
Super User