BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Calcite | Level 5
Hi all,
I am new to SAS programming, I have few question reagrding SAS. These questions may be not relevant or easy, but as I said before I have no clue about SAS. So, If any one can help me out it would be great.My questions are:

1. Can we run SAS Program from MS DOS command prompt. If yes, how?
I want to run SAS Program in my SSIS Package ( in SQL Server)...the best way i found is through the cmd shell, but I don't know the exact command that need to be used to execute it.
2. If we can run the SAS from cmd (MS-DOS)....can we pass parameters to it
My SAS program need some parameters to be sent while executing.....so is there a way to send parameters to my SAS and execute it in CMD (windows)

Thank you in advance, I really appreciate your help.

Sasi
5 REPLIES 5
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
I'm not sure about running from SSIS, but SAS, in general, can be run from the command prompt. There is a section about it in the SAS Companion for Windows (look at batch execution).

I know that passing parameters to a batch SAS program has been discussed in these forums, but can't find it now. If you have a lot of them to pass, it might be easier to code them as %LET macro variables and store them in a text file to %INCLUDE into the SAS program.

Doc Muhlbaier
Duke
DanielSantos
Barite | Level 11
Yep.

Running SAS in batch mode is simple as this:
[pre]
sas -sysin -sysparm ''
[/pre]
From within your script parameters are accessible through the SYSPARM macro variable.

Check the docs here:
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrcon/61722/HTML/default/a001283211.htm
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/hostwin/61924/HTML/default/win-sysop-sysin.htm
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/hostwin/61924/HTML/default/win-sysop-sysparm.htm

Cheers from Portugal.

Daniel Santos @ www.cgd.pt
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10