BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DanD
Calcite | Level 5
I'm new to SAS and Oracle. I'm using SAS EG. In EG in the server list there is a folder called "Libraries" that has most of the databases that are also in Oracle. It is my understanding that by using these libraries I am really using the Oracle data.

I use a libary statement like this in my code:
Libname ODS ORACLE USER=user PASSWORD="user" PATH=xxpath SCHEMA=ODS;

I run the same query in EG and in TOAD. The one in EG takes about an hour and the one in TOAD takes less than a minute.

Are the indexes in Oracle used to process data when I write code in EG or do I need to create them? If I create a separate dataset in EG and then use it in a join to the other data (through the library) that is in Oracle do I need to create an index on it?

Thanks
10 REPLIES 10
SASKiwi
PROC Star
I suggest you try PASSTHRU SQL in SAS as this is the exact equivalent of a query in TOAD. Try this:

proc sql;
connect to oracle
( user = user
password = password
path = xxpath
buffsize = 32767
preserve_comments
);

create table example as
select * from connection to oracle
(

* put your TOAD Oracle query here ;

);
disconnect from oracle;
quit;

A query via a SAS LIBNAME requires SAS to translate your query into PL/SQL and that may not be exactly the same as your TOAD version.
DanD
Calcite | Level 5
I have used PASSTHRU SQL in other instances but my boss prefers not to use it? I will try it to see if it makes a difference in performance for this particular query. By not using PASSTHRU SQL are the indexes in Oracle still used? Would putting an index on my SAS dataset improve performance?

Thanks
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
I also think like your boos that explicit pass-thru should be avoided if possible.
SAS will try to convert your SAS SQL query to Oracle SQL.
If the query doesn't contains joins, the most important is that processing such as filtering (WHERE) and summarization takes place at the source.